

Kreissig Award for Excellence in Retinal Surgery

This award, established by Ingrid Kreissig, MD in 2020 with an endowment through the ARVO Foundation, recognizes the next generation of curious, enterprising investigators who seek to optimize functional outcomes for patients needing retinal surgery.

The purpose of the award is to recognize investigators who have expanded or enhanced scientific knowledge related to the understanding of 1.) the rationale and mechanisms for a minimal approach in retinal surgery, 2.) an innovative surgical approach to retinal disease, and 3.) the functional results after the newly developed retinal surgery. The recipient will receive a \$30,000 honorarium.

Past Recipients

- 2021 Rajeev H. Muni MD, MSc, FRCSC
- 2022 Demetrios G. Vavvas MD, PhD
- 2023 David Zacks, MD, PhD

